Student Portraits

Normally I’m pretty awful at talking to new people so this assessment was a little daunting at first, having to chat to 3 people I barely know wasn’t really something I planned on writing about. However, as I met more people and they started to open up about themselves with me I found it increasingly easy to write about them. Here are 3 students that I had the pleasure to have a conversation with.

Mackenzie Viney

“I don’t really know what to say, what five words can I use to make me sound like a legend without being pretentious” was the first thing Mackenzie Viney said when I asked her to describe herself. This blatant self-empowerment seems to be in stark contrast to her introverted exterior. After chatting with Mackenzie for a while she opened up about her ambitions to be a celebrity, a dream she traces back to her Year 10 School Formal. “I finally got to wear a gown for my school formal, and it made me realise that I just really want to make it big, then I can dress up and walk on the red carpet all the time and that’s when I decided I should get into acting”

Jesse Godfrey

When I asked Jesse Godfrey to tell me about his most defining moment he told me about representing his school Parish and Diocese at World Youth Day in Madrid, Spain back in 2011. “it was a great experience to be involved in, it really made me feel important”. In 2015 however Jesse can reflect on his current journey towards being a sports journalist. “I definitely love to write, especially about sports, so it just seemed to be the right choice to come and study to become like so many great sports writers before me”

Madison Chatham

“Just getting into University through all my setbacks and hard times is probably my most defining moment so far” says first time University student Madison Chatham. Whilst having a conversation with Madison I noticed that she is extremely proud of herself ,”I managed to get straight into the course that I wanted and that really proved to me that I can do whatever I put my mind to”. This pride, she hopes, will be reflected in her studies “I’m not just here to get a degree, I am here to learn. I want to learn more about myself and about my generation, because the people I surround myself with now are going to be the ones I represent as a successful journalist or reporter”.

I’d just like to say a massive thank you to everyone that I took photos of, and took time from.

One response to “Student Portraits

Leave a comment