Level One Complete!

The great prophet Nicki Minaj once said “Your victory is right around the corner. Never give up”. That couldn’t be more true. Actually, Nicki Minaj also once said “bitches ain’t shit and they ain’t say nothin’ 100 mu’fuckers can’t tell me nothin'” so maybe we’ll be selective about what we take from her.

The last 13 weeks of University have taught me so much. I’ve learnt that the stereotypes are right; if a guy has ratty dreads and wears a hemp bandana it probably isn’t just a cigarette he’s smoking. I’ve learnt that coffee quality almost always suffers if it’s cheaper than everywhere else. I’ve learnt that petrol is a valuable commodity. And most importantly I’ve figured out that leaving an essay until the day that the damn thing is due is NEVER a good idea no matter how much you assure yourself it is. 1752950a49d01330a2435bde45bdc81af41becdc91e2ba581ad32cc844eb853d

When I started this degree I never really anticipated the workload. I knew it would be full on at the end of the semester but how could I ever have prepared for this? The answer to that is simple. Listen. It’s not like I had no idea the assessments were due, they were clearly marked out and explained to us throughout the whole semester, I just chose to do the fun stuff first.

I know I’m not alone in the rushed assessment department, one only has to look at the Facebook posts starting from about 12 hours before the deadline on our Journalism page to see that. Panic written in 160 characters or less all over my twitter feed only further confirmed what I already knew… most of us were absolutely screwed.

2mn6wi-300x199

However, through copious amounts of energy drinks, coffees, snacks or whatever other study aid you subscribe to, we made it (or at least I hope everyone got it in, otherwise ignore this post). Somehow I, like so many others, pulled off what seemed impossible at 10:30 on a Sunday night, and got the essay in.

Now, dear friends, is a time for quiet contemplation. We must rest, or party, or both, in preparation for our next grueling ordeal, exams. But hey, let’s leave that to future us, right?

how-i-met-your-mother-season-1-1280x960

Leave a comment